Rabbit recipe and Kibbles Kindles

Well, post-demonstration I have just been taking it easy. Mid-day I give the rabbits new frozen bottles and then wallow in the fact that my work load is majorly decreased and I have a break. I’ve been watching my rabbits in their tractor, playing with the dogs, watching some TV, and enjoying my brief moments off with nothing at all going on. It was a rough week but I made it through and we’ll be ready when the new chickens show up at the end of the month.

The night of the demonstration I made some delicious rabbit and I thought I’d share the recipe with you all! It’s sort of a Thai dish that I made some time back when we first got rabbit in the old apartment. We bought a half-rabbit from a local market and I fried some of it in a spicy sauce. This was trying to be a little reminiscent of that. I hope you enjoy it!

PRETENDING-TO-BE-THAI BARBEQUED RABBIT

  • 1 rabbit (2-3lbs) chopped into pieces (I cut mine in such a way that there was little meat left on the ribs and I removed the spine. Those bits will be boiled for broth later.)
  • 1-2 chili peppers of choice. I used Thai peppers before but I only had a jalapeno this time. Use more for a hotter dish or add crushed red peppers.
  • 1/3 C chunks of bell pepper, loosely measured
  • 1 C water
  • 1tbs Apple cider vinegar
  • 2tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tbs ketchup
  • 1 tsp Red Hot (or substitute some cayenne pepper for a more Thai flavor)
  • 1 tbs butter
  • 1 tsp Fish Sauce or Oyster Sauce
  • 1/2 tbs flour
  • 1/4 C chopped green onions (We used the tops of the onions outside)
  • Black pepper and paprika

Cut up your rabbit and set it in a large skillet with the spicy peppers, water, vinegar and soy sauce. Sprinkle liberally with black pepper and some paprika. Let sit in this covered for a half hour or until you’re ready to cook.

Turn heat onto medium and add the ketchup, fish sauce, onions, bell peppers and red hot. Mix in the flour as the pan heats up. Cook on medium-high heat for about 10 minutes on each side. If the water cooks out too fast add more a little bit at a time. Keep the water level low. When the rabbit is cooked for 10 minutes on each side add the butter. Brown the rabbit in the butter and sauce until the sauce is gooey and sticks to the rabbit.
Remember to cook your rabbit to 160 degrees(F)  internal temperature.

Serve on rice with green beans and carrots for sides (or whatever really).

Additionally Kibbles kindled this morning. She and I are starting to build a better relationship. She knows it’s not bad when I open the cage and she’s OK with my scent. She still is aggressive when I try to pet her but we’re working on it. The past two days she’s done nothing but lie on her side, eat and drink. Her belly was so big it looked like she’d swallowed a melon. I was starting to get worried, and was changing her frozen bottles more frequently. If you looked close you could see the babies moving in her side occasionally.
Today she gave me TWELVE kits! They’re a bit on the small side but with twelve of them that’s not surprising! When I found them some of them were still having trouble stretching out because they’d been so cramped inside of her so long. I hope they all make it… Wouldn’t it be wonderful if they did!? But I won’t be sad or surprised if we lose 1-2 over the first week. Twelve kits is hard for mom rabbit to handle, but Kibbles comes from a line known to be good mothers that produce early and raise huge litters to adulthood during their prime. We’ll just have to wait and see!

Until next time then!

2 thoughts on “Rabbit recipe and Kibbles Kindles

Leave a Reply

